Vegetarian Pizzas

Deep inside, everyone’s a vegetarian.  I just eat a few less animals than most.  Once you come to terms why you don’t eat dogs, cats, monkeys, and dolphins, you’ll begin to understand why I don’t eat cows, pigs, chickens, and lambs.” -Edward Sanchez

I’ve found making pizzas as a quick meal that also includes some leftovers.  The toppings are limitless and I usually just choose random vegetables I have purchased for other meals.  Before becoming a vegetarian meat was my go-to topping on pizzas.  I’ve found with trying different vegetables on my pizzas they are full of flavor and more satisfying than my former “meat lover” preferences.

For pizza crusts I advise AGAINST Kroger brand, it tasted like cardboard.  Mama Mary’s brand (I’ve bought at Walmart) is made with whole wheat and is a thin and crispy style crust.  I spread olive oil on the bottom of the crust to make it crispy.  Before I spread the pizza sauce I like to spread minced garlic and pesto on the crust to add flavor. For pizza sauces I tend to prefer a white sauce such as alfredo or ranch dressing.  Sometimes I mix half white sauce and half spaghetti sauce.  For cheese I usually buy some pre-mixed mozzarella, Asiago, provolone, and romano cheeses.  I also like to sprinkle feta after I have put the other toppings on the pizza.  If you broil the oven it browns the cheese on top too.

My favorite pizza toppings:

  • spinach 
  • zucchini
  • banana peppers
  • tomato slices or halves of cherry tomatoes
  • onion slices
  • marinated artichoke hearts
  • mushrooms
  • sun dried tomatoes
  • kale
  • pesto
  • chili pepper flakes
  • garlic cloves

These are some pictures from my two most recent pizzas.

photo-6 photo-7

Vegetarian Pizza Ingredients

Veggie Lovers Pizza

photo-29

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Vegetarian Pizzas

Leave a Reply

